News Bulletin 4

15th ACM Web Science Conference: Inequalities in the Face of Concurrent Crises
30 April – 1 May 2023
Austin, Texas, USA (and online)

Our 15th ACM Web Science Conference: Inequalities in the Face of Concurrent Crises is only days away! So no matter whether you are already preparing for your travels to Austin or still considering to last-minute-register for virtual participation, read along for a quick recap of what to expect during our two conference days, Sunday 30th of April and Monday 1st of May.

While it may already be too late for making spontaneous travel plans, there is always the option to still register for virtual attendance. Please find the instructions for registration on our website (

Apart from the paper sessions happening during Day 1, the program ends with the Turing Award Lecture by Bob Metcalfe ( as well as a reception in his honor, sponsored by the Web Science Trust. The reception will be opened by Dame Wendy Hall, Regius Professor of Computer Science at the University of Southampton, and closed by Professor and Motorola Regents Chair Diana Marculescu, University of Texas at Austin.

The program of Day 2 is packed not only with another set of paper sessions, but also has two further keynotes by Dhiraj Murthy and David Rand. To provide us with a holistic overview of the past, present and most importantly the future of Web Science, we will have our The Future of Web Science Panel at 5:00 p.m CDT on Monday – certainly an event you do not want to miss. Conference Chair Ágnes Horvát (Northwestern University) will moderate the discussions between our highly esteemed panelists Deborah McGuinness (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), Ricardo Baeza-Yates (Northeastern University), Weihang Wang (University of Southern California), and her two Co-Chairs, Noshir Contractor (Northwestern University) and Dame Wendy Hall (University of Southampton).

But that’s not all! It would certainly be difficult to come up with a better way to end a conference than by presenting awards. After the Web Science Trust Test of TimeAward was awarded for the first time last year, a new winner will be announced during the conference’s closing ceremony, chosen from all the work that has ever been presented at one of the 14 previous Web Science Conferences. If you can’t wait to learn about the winners of this year’s award, we suggest reading up on the first ever winners of the Test of Time Award (

In addition to the WST Test of Time award, the winners of the Best Paper Awards for this year’s conference will also be presented with their awards during the closing ceremony. Finally, in yet another highly anticipated reveal, we will also learn about the location of next year’s ACM Web Science Conference.
For this and everything else #WebSci23, keep an eye on the hashtag on social media, and check our website for further updates.
Best wishes
WebSci’23 Conference Committee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *